Quantum Information and Computation (Summer 2009)

Time/Manner/Place

10:00 - 11:30 Monday S2-09/02
13:30 - 15:10 Wednesday S2-07/109
Roughly every fourth meeting will be a recitation session (Übung)

Instructor

Dr. Joseph M. Renes
Email: joe.renes@physik.tu.de (-darmstadt)
Office: S2-09/101
Office hours: by appointment

Announcements

Syllabus

Wed 15 Apr Introduction
Mon 20 Apr Classical and Quantum Probability
Wed 22 Apr QubitsProblem Set #1
Mon 27 Apr Multiple Systems & Entanglement
Wed 29 Apr Recitation SectionSolution Set #1
Mon 04 May No lecture
Wed 06 May Mixed States;Generalized MeasurementProblem Set #2
Mon 11 May Recitation Session
Wed 13 May Recitation SessionSolution Set #2
Mon 18 May No lecture
Wed 20 May Quantum Operations
Mon 25 May Bell Inequalities
Wed 27 May Entropy and Data Compression
Mon 01 Jun Pfingstmontag
Wed 03 Jun Universal Compression & Entropy of Several Variables; The Chernoff Bound
Mon 08 Jun Noisy Channel CodingProblem Set #3
Wed 10 Jun Recitation SectionSolution Set #3
Mon 15 Jun von Neumann entropy and Schumacher Compression
Wed 17 Jun Strong Subadditivity;Entanglement Criteria
Mon 22 Jun Classical compression with quantum side information
Wed 24 Jun part II
Mon 29 Jun No lecture
Wed 01 Jul Decoupling & Complementary Classical CouplingProblem Set #4
Mon 06 Jul Quantum Computation: Basics
Wed 08 Jul Grover's and Simon's AlgorithmsSolution Set #4
Mon 13 Jul Phase estimation
Wed 15 Jul Order Finding & Factoring

Online Resources